Kitamura Paper Award

The Transportation Research Board of the U.S. National Academies has established an award in honor of Ryuichi Kitamura and his contributions in the areas of activity-based analysis, travel demand modeling, time-use research, dynamic analysis of travel behavior, travel survey methods, and transportation policy studies. The award is given at the annual TRB meeting for the year’s best student paper in one of these areas. Details on the award and eligibility are available here.

A cash prize supported by contributions to the Ryuichi Kitamura Fund is given to the student winners of the TRB Ryuichi Kitamura Paper Award following presentation of the paper to a UC Davis audience. Travel for student winners is supported by contributions to the Patricia Mokhtarian Fund for Travel Behavior.


Susan Handy and Sebastian Astroza
2017 Award Winner
Sebastian Astroza
University of Texas at Austin
Paper: Transportation Planning to Accommodate Needs of Wind Energy Projects
Zhibin Chen and Dan Sperling
2016 Award Winner
Zhibin Chen
University of Florida
Paper: Analysis of Advanced Management of Curbside Parking
Susan Handy and Rodney Brown
2015 Award Winner
Rodney Brown
University of California, Davis
Paper: Why Don't Teenagers Drive Anymore? Factors Associated With Delayed Driver's License Acquisition Among High School Students
Jiwon Kim and Susan Handy
2014 Award Winner
Dr. Jiwon Kim
The University of Queensland
Paper: How Many Runs? Analytical Methods for Optimal Scenario Sampling to Estimate the Variance of Travel Time Distributions in Vehicular Traffic Networks
Maria Kamargianni and Susan Handy
2013 Award Winner
Maria Kamargianni
University of the Aegean
Paper: Development of a Hybrid Choice Model to Investigate the Effects of Teenagers’ Attitudes Towards Walking and Cycling on Mode Choice Behavior
Pat Mokhtarian and Matthias Sweet
2012 Award Winner
Matthias N. Sweet and Rachel Weinberger
University of Pennsylvania
Paper: Integrating Walkability Into Planning Practice
Pat Mokhtarian, Joshua A. Auld and Abolfazl (Kouros) Mohammadian
2011 Award Winner
Joshua A. Auld and Abolfazl (Kouros) Mohammadian
University of Illinois at Chicago
Paper: Planning Constrained Destination Choice in the ADAPTS Activity-Based Model
David Gaker and Joan Walker
2010 Award Winner
David Gaker, Yanding Zheng, and Joan Walker
University of California, Berkeley
Paper: Experimental Economics in Transportation: A Focus on Social Influences and the Provision of Information