2005 Asilomar Conference

Asilomar Conference Grounds

August 23 – 26, 2005

Toward a Policy Agenda for Climate Change

This is the Tenth Biennial Conference on Transportation and Energy hosted by the UC Davis Institute of Transportation Studies and organized under the auspices of the Energy and Alternative Fuels Committees of the U.S. Transportation Research Board.

Executive Summary

Driving Climate Change: Cutting Carbon from Transportation
Daniel Sperling and James S. Cannon, editors. Elsevier Academic Press, 2005.


Keynote Session – Daniel Sperling, ITS-Davis
Keynote Session – Eileen Claussen, Pew Center on Global Climate Change
Keynote Session – George Eads, Charles River Associates

Session I – Jack Johnston (co-author Donald Gardner), ExxonMobil
Session I – Robert Hirsch, Science Applications International Corporation
Session I – James Mahoney, United States Climate Change Science Program, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
Session I – David Reiner, Cambridge University

Session II – John DeCicco, Environmental Defense

Session II – Duncan Eggar, BP (Full Text)
Session II – Christine Sloane, General Motors
Session II – Ed Rubin, Canegie Mellon University
Session II – Mitch Jackson, FedEx Corporation
Session II – Haroon Kheshgi, ExxonMobil
Session II – Ken Kurani, ITS-Davis

Session III – Gary Toth, New Jersey Department of Transportation
Session III – Gordon Garry, Sacramento Council of Governments
Session III – Reid Ewing, University of Maryland

Session IV – Lee Schipper, EMBARQ, World Resources Institute
Session IV – Shomik Raj Mehndiratta, World Bank
Session IV – Walter Hook, Institute of Transportation and Development Policy
Session IV – Debbie Bleviss, BBG Group

Session V – John German, Honda
Session V – Feng An, Energy and Transportation Technologies LLC
Session V – Alexandre Dumas, Transport Canada; Andre Bourbeau, Transport Canada; and David Greene, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Session V – Steve Winkelman, Center for Clean Air Policy
Session V – Chris Miller, United States Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works

Session VI – Peter Reilly Roe, Natural Resources Canada

Session VI – Arthur Lee, Chevron

Session VII – David Greene, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Session VII – Jack Johnston, ExxonMobil
Session VII – Chris Grundler, United States Environmental Protection Agency
Session VII – David Burwell, BBG Group


ITS-Davis would like to thank our generous sponsors

ITS-Davis Corporate Affiliate Members

  • Aramco
  • ChevronTexaco
  • ExxonMobil
  • Nissan
  • Nippon Oil Corporation
  • Pacific Gas & Electric
  • Subaru
  • Toyota

Steering Committee

  • David Burwell (BBG Group)
  • John DeCicco (Environmental Defense)
  • Lew Fulton (International Energy Agency)
  • David Greene (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • Judi Greenwald (Pew Center on Global Climate Change)
  • Jack Johnston (ExxonMobil)
  • Robert Larson (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
  • Marianne Mintz (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • Farideh Ramjerdi (Institute of Transport Economics, Norway)
  • Peter Reilly-Roe (Natural Resources Canada)
  • Mike Savonis (Federal Highway Administration)
  • Lee Schipper (EMBARQ, World Resources Institute)
  • Dan Sperling (UC Davis)
  • Steve Winkelman (Center for Clean Air Policy)

Thank you for your interest in the UC Davis Institute of Transportation Studies. Subscribe today to keep up with the latest ITS news and happenings.

Join Our Mailing List