Asilomar Conference 2019

Big Ideas, Big Solutions: Future of Mobility

July 9-12, 2019 in Pacific Grove, California

Conference Description

The 17th Biennial will spotlight emerging revolutions in transportation—electrification, automation, and sharing—with far-reaching implications for the environment, equity, and the economy. Many of society’s activities and industries will be disrupted, from taxis to public transit to the automotive industry, and beyond. Most local, regional, and state governments are not prepared for these sweeping changes.

This year’s conference will offer an unparalleled opportunity to confer and collaborate on the business and policy models needed to address these transformations—and direct them toward the public interest. Three days of dynamic conference sessions will feature an array of notable experts serving as moderators, speakers, panelists, and discussants.

The conference is hosted by the Institute of Transportation Studies at UC Davis (ITS-Davis) under the auspices of the Energy and Alternative Fuels Committees and the Climate Change Task Force of the U.S. Transportation Research Board, one of seven program units of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine.

See the full list of conference participants.


Asilomar Presentations

Speaker Bios




Asilomar 2019 Steering Committee

  • Dan Sperling (Chair), University of California, Davis
  • Mark Abkowitz, Vanderbilt University; TRB Chair of Climate Task Force
  • Vicki Arroyo, Georgetown University
  • Austin Brown, University of California, Davis
  • Anthony Eggert, ClimateWorks Foundation
  • Lauren Faber O’Connor, City of Los Angeles
  • Lew Fulton, University of California, Davis
  • David Greene, University of Tennessee
  • Marianne Kah, Columbia University
  • Karen LaughlinHeising Simons Foundation
  • Paul Leiby, Oak Ridge National Laboratory; TRB Chair of Energy Committee
  • Tim Lipman, University of California, Berkeley; TRB Chair of Alternative Fuel Committee
  • Michael Lord, Toyota Motor Corporation
  • Patty Monahan, California Energy Commission
  • Lisa Snapp, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Emily Castor Warren, Fontinalis Partners
  • Sean Waters, Freightliner

Asilomar 2019 Sponsors

If your organization would like to become a sponsor of Asilomar 2019, contact Tom Mackey at

Register Today

Thank you for your interest in the UC Davis Institute of Transportation Studies. Subscribe today to keep up with the latest ITS news and happenings.

Join Our Mailing List